Wednesday, 11th of May 2016 would remain a day of glory for Professor Samuel Oye Bandele the Ekiti State University (EKSU) Vice Chancellor, Staff and students of the institution when the Vice Chancellor was bestowed with the prestigious award of 2016 Kwame Nkrumah Leadership Award on Administration as West Africa Most Outstanding Person on Education and Humanitarian Services Par-Excellence by the West African Students Union (WASU).

The Senate chamber of the Ekiti State University was filled to the brim by members of staff, students and well-wishers who thronged the venue to witness what turned out to be a memorable event.

The stage was set when the Secretary General of the WASU, Diplomat Emmanuel Sobio reeled out the reasons and steps taken to fish out Professor Samuel Oye Bandele for the prestigious award.
According to Sobio “the decision to confer this honour is not just the celebration of the achievement of an outstanding performer but should be considered as a clarion call on the recipient not to relent on his effort towards redefining the standard of education and building capacity in West Africa.”

The Secretary General who led eight other students from West African countries was of the opinion that the award should serve as a wakeup call on others that some people were critically observing their efforts whether good or bad.

Responding, the Vice Chancellor said that the award would gear him to continue to do more in uplifting education particularly in the training of students who are future leaders.
According to him, as a Vice Chancellor, the welfare and upbringing of students are very paramount noting that without students there would be no lecturers or even Vice Chancellors.

The Vice Chancellor further said that the award would encourage him to continue the fight against corruption in the University system. He urged all members of staff to treat students fairly to enable them pay back to their Alma matter after graduation.
Professor Bandele dedicated the award to the entire household of EKSU including students.
All Principal Officers, Deans of Faculties, several members of staff and students of the University were at the ceremony.

View More Images from the Awards here