Our History

The Department started in 1983 as geology/geophysics at the then Ondo State University, Ado-Ekiti. Initially the department was well staffed in all aspects of geology /geophysics. However, sequel to the creation of Ekiti state which resulted into fragmentation of the department in terms of human and material assets, some Lecturers left and there was dearth of Lecturers especially in applied geophysics. Thus, the applied geophysics option of the department was stepped down. Subsequently, the department managed the assets to remarkable achievements in areas of staffing, office accommodation and items of both office/Laboratory and teaching equipment.

It was on this note that the department through the University Senate in 2011/2012 recruited four additional geophysics lecturers to strengthening the existing ones. Thus the geophysics aspect of the department has been fully resuscitated and reactivated. The Department of Geology is committed to providing the best education in geosciences and indeed is poised to meet world standards. The Geology department has full accreditation at the last accreditation exercise by the National University Commission (NUC) haring net the standards for geosciences education in Nigeria. 


The department has as its mission to:

a) Teach the students to have considerable in-depth knowledge in various aspects of Geology/applied geophysics with emphasis on applied geology subjects such as Geological Mapping, Hydrogeology, Engineering Geology, Petroleum Geology, Exploration Geophysics, Geochemistry, Economic Geology and Micropaleontology among others.

b) Inculcate self confidence and independence in the students so that they can make meaningful contributions towards the development of the profession and in whatever capacity they may become engaged in.

c) Broaden the students’ knowledge such that they, in addition to the compulsory foundation and departmental required courses in Geology are able to select appropriate elective courses from other departments within and outside the Faculty of Science.



Students intending to gain admission into Department of Geology must satisfy the general University and Faculty of Science entry requirements and should normally satisfy at least one of the following conditions.

(a) Obtain ‘O’ level credit passes in Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics, English and one other science subject or approved equivalent passes at SSCE or NECO examinations.

(b) Pass the Pre-degree Science Courses of the Faculty of Science of the Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti at prescribed levels and must also satisfy (a) above.

(c) Direct entry students should in addition to satisfying the University requirements, have principal passes at HSC/GCE ‘A’ Level in at least two of the following subjects: Geology, Chemistry, Mathematics, Biology and Physics.

(d) A minimum of Upper Credit in OND or ND from a recognized Polytechnic.
UME Subjects: English Language, Physics and any two from Mathematics, Chemistry, Biology and Geography.
Minimum units required for graduation









1 Geology B.Sc. (Hons) 174 162
2 Geophysics B.Sc. (Hons) 152 140


1 Candidates for the M.Sc. Degree Programmes (in Mineral Exploration and Geology) shall posses any of the following entry qualifications:

(i) Bachelor’s Degree in Geology of the Ekiti State University of other Universities recognized by Senate.
(ii) Bachelor’s Degree in relevant earth, physical and applied sciences of the Ekiti State University or other institutions recognized by Senate.

2 Candidates for the M.Phil., M.Phil./ Ph.D. Programmes shall satisfy the conditions as stipulated in the General Regulations of the Postgraduate School, Ekiti State University, for example, candidates must

(i) Hold a Master’s Degree in Geology or relevant discipline of Ekiti State University or other Universities approved by Senate.

(ii) Attain a specified level of performance in the Master of Science Degree of Ekiti State University.

Requirements of the Degree Programmes

The terminologies which apply to the different categories of courses offered in the degree programmes are indicated below:

(a) Compulsory refers to specified courses of a programme which a student must take and pass.

(b) Required: refers to specified courses of a programme, which a student must take, not necessarily pass, but must obtain a minimum marks of 30%.

(c) Elective: refers to courses from which a student can take in order to make up the required additional units needed for the award of the degree.

Students are advised to study carefully the requirements for the degree programmes. Whenever in doubt, clarification or advice should be sought from the Head of Department or the Coordinator of Postgraduate Programmes or other Academic Members of Staff. The general regulations and guidelines for postgraduate degree programmes, are available in the Brochure of the Postgraduate School.