The Governing Council of Ekiti State University (EKSU) has approved the promotion of thirteen (13) Senior Academic Staff of the institution to the rank of Professors while twenty-eight (28) Readers across all Faculties emerged.

In a statement signed by the Ag. Director, Information and Corporate Affairs of the University, Ajibade Olubunmi, it was stressed that the elevation of the academic staff to the rank of Professor was as a result of their hard work and commitment to responsibilities of teaching, research and community development.

The new Professors include A. F. Ibimilua, B. O. Bankole, J. A. Ogundele and A. J. Olatunji who are all from Faculty of Social Sciences.

Others are Professors Benson Ademiluyi, Adekemi Oluyege and Henry Ogungbende from the Faculty of Science.

New Professors from Faculty of Agricultural Sciences are Pius Amoka Aye and Olubunmi Shittu. The Faculty of Education has Professor Gabriel Bolufide Olowoyeye, Professor James Ayodele Oluwatayo and Professor Joseph Afolayan Adegboyega while a new Professor also emerged from the Faculty of Arts; she is Mrs. Magaret Yemisi Ojo.

The Vice Chancellor, Professor Samuel Oye Bandele since congratulated the Professors and the Readers urging them to continue to work hard and justify their new status.