Prof. Abiodun, M. A.
B.A., M.A., Ph.D (Ilorin)


The Faculty of Arts is one of the Faculties that started the University in 1982.  Hence, the Faculty is as old as the University itself.

The Faculty, at its inception in 1982, had two Departments namely Department of English and Literary Studies and History (which is now known as History and International Studies).

The Department of English and Literary Studies started with three Lecturers and eighteen students.  At present, it has one three Professors, Associate Professor, three Senior Lecturers, three on the Cadre of Lecturer I and three on the Cadre of Lecturer II.  Since its inception, the programme has been a combination of English Language and Literature in English.  The Department has graduated several sets of students with all the usual classes of degrees, except first class.  Currently, the Department is headed by Dr. S. A. Dada.

The Department of History, as one of the founding Departments of the Faculty of Arts in 1982, made a thorough review of its curriculum in search of relevance to the needs of contemporary Nigerian Society.  Africa and the world in general.  Consequent upon this, some old courses were jettisoned while new ones were brought on board.  Senate also approved the change of its name to Department of History and International Studies during the 2003/2004 Academic Session.

In 1983, the Faculty added Departments of French, Religious Studies and Philosophy to its programmes a year after the inception of the University.

The Department of French was phased out in 1989 after producing three (3) sets of graduates of French (Single Honours).  But, with the establishment of the Nigerian French Language Village, Badagry, the study of the Programmes (French) was resuscitated in the University in 1992 and a combined Honours Degree Programme was introduced.

The Faculty established the Department of Linguistics and Nigerian Languages, an offshoot of the Department of Yoruba Studies during the 1999/2000 Academic Session.  Since its inception, the Department has produced a reasonable or appreciable number of graduates.

In 1983/86 the Department of Religious Studies and Philosophy was split into two independent Departments.  The Department of Philosophy, since its establishment as a full fledged Department, has grown and expanded in terms of numbers of staff, students and academic programmes

The Department of Religious Studies, which in 1983 was a unit in the Department of Religious Studies and Philosophy, began by offering undergraduate degree in Religious Studies in 1986.

The Faculty now has six Departments which provide, in addition to the traditional subjects, an appropriate platform for the mounting of courses in General Studies.

The six Departments are:

(a)        Department of English and Literary Studies

(b)        Department of French

(c)        Department of History and International Studies

(d)        Department of Linguistics and Nigerian Languages

(e)        Department of Philosophy

(f)         Department of Religious Studies


Philosophy of the Faculty of Arts

The Faculty of Arts contributes in a very substantial manner to the general sustenance of the Society, both in the public and private sectors.  It is relatively inexpensive to establish and its study cuts across disciplinary barriers.  Moreover, more than most other disciplines, it stretches the mind and sharpens the intellect in a way to emphasize the liberal nature of tertiary education.


Our Objectives
Arts programmes are further designed to meet the overall Faculty goals and the following specific objectives.

(i)         To provide its students with a sound knowledge of the English Language and Literature in English,   develop their skills in basic Language usage and expose them to the various forms of oral and written Literature in English or translated into English.

(ii)         T6 expose the students to the structure of French Language.Francophone Literature and Civilization;

(iii)        To enable students communicate fluently with people whose first/second Language is French.

(iv)        To comprehend and insightfully analyze literary texts in the Language and translate skillfully from English to French Literary, professional and technical texts;

(v)        To provide basic training in the academic study of History and International Studies leading to the formation of informed citizenry.

(vi)        To introduce students to all facets of Nigerian, African, European, Asian and American History as well as issues of International affairs such as terrorism and religious fundamentalism etc.

(vii)       To equip the students with the knowledge of adequate analysis of language with great emphasis on the Nigerian languages.

(viii)      To give the students a broad, thorough and rigorous background not only in the History of Philosophy, but also in all the core areas of Philosophy, such as Logic, Epistemology, Metaphysics, Ethics and Political Philosophy.

(ix)        To enable the students understand the phenomenon and social implications of religion in general and the critical and analytical approach to the study of Arabic and Islamic Studies.


Staff List






Abiodun, M. A. B.A., M.A., Ph.D (Ilorin) Prof. and Dean +2348033887739

Afolabi, S. O.

B.A.(Ed.) (Ife), M.Ed. (Lagos) AMNIM SAR and Faculty Officer



Bamidele, R.O. NCE, B.SC(Hon) (Ado) Senior Executive Officer

Famuwagun C.Y. NCE, (Ikere), B.Sc.(Ed) (Ado) Personal Secretary



Ojo, C. I.

Open Grading Exam. 50wpm, Diploma in Computer Studies  


Chief Typist






Unyah, E. F.

RSA 25wpm,

35wpm, Open grad.,  25wpm,  50wpm,NABTEB,

Dip. in Computer Studies



Chief Typist




Oretuyi, S. B.Sc in view Senior Clerical Officer

Bamisile, O. A. SSCE&GCE Clerical Officer 08030641964
Oluyeye, E. A.   Sup. Driver

Ojo, I. S. B.Sc. (Ado) Senior Clerical Officer

Babatunde, D.A. S.75  Senior Office Assistant II

Adebayo, K. S. SSCE, B.Sc. inp view Senior Office Assistant II