Prof. E. O. Ogunleye
Dean of School:

The University started its first Postgraduate programme in 1986 with the introduction of Postgraduate Diploma in Education, and Master of Education in Guidance and Counselling Programmes both in the Faculty of Education. The Postgraduate Programmes were initially run by Faculties and the responsibilities of the Board of School of Postgraduate Studies today were originally handled by the various Faculty Boards.

At its 80th Regular meeting, Senate approved the setting up of a Board of Postgraduate Studies following a recommendation to that effect from the Committee of Deans.  The Board which was inaugurated on 6th December, 1996 by the Late Prof. P. O. Bodunrin (the then Vice-Chancellor) functioned for two years before Senate upgraded the Board to a School of Postgraduate Studies in January 1999.  Consequently, the Chairman of the Board of Postgraduate Studies became the Dean of School of Postgraduate Studies.

The pioneer Chairman of the Board of Postgraduate Studies was Prof. S. I. Ette.  Prof. J. B. Adeyeri succeeded him on the 1st January, 1999.  With the departure of Prof. Adeyeri to the Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba Akoko, the Late Prof. A. O. Akande was appointed by the Vice-Chancellor to act as the Dean of the Postgraduate School on the 3rd April, 2000.  He was later elected by the Board of Postgraduate Studies as the Dean.  In August 2004, Prof. D. O. Owuamanam came on board as Dean, and served for five years.  Prof. J. O. Aribisala became the Dean of the School on the 5th November, 2009.  Similarly the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Dipo Kolawole appointed Dr. S. O. Adewole as the pioneer Sub-Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies on the 1st May, 2010 on the recommendation of the Dean.  Prof. E. O. Olanipekun was appointed as Dean, School of Postgraduate Studies in May, 2012 by the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. P. O. Aina. He is being assisted by two Sub-Deans namely Dr. T. Jegede for regular Postgraduate Programme, and Dr. S. O. Olatunji for the Professional Programmes.

“To be a world class Postgraduate School making the University to attain an unbeatable standard in the quality of its staff, teaching, research and community development services, and equipping graduands with both theoretical and research oriented knowledge for effective functioning in relevant fields”.

Mission: “To provide advanced educational opportunities to developing scholars and working professionals through sound instructions in diverse but relevant disciplines with emphasis on application of functional ideas that meet societal needs”.

Objectives: The main objective of Postgraduate Studies in the University is to further develop in higher studies, the spirit of enquiry through training in research in an atmosphere of intellectual independence and individual creativity.  In pursuance of this objective, the Postgraduate School fosters through instruction, a deeper understanding of elementary concepts and an increasing ability to apply functional ideas to new problems.  The student in the School of Postgraduate Studies must therefore, be made to realize quite early that their intellectual growth and subsequent success are directly related to the depth of their command of basic principles.  Hence, graduate studies are usually associated with a high degree of specialization, such specialization must be secondary to extending mental horizons, producing new orientations and developing great depth of understanding.

Within the context of the above general objective, Postgraduate Studies at the University provides advanced educational opportunities to both the developing scholars and the working professionals.

Specifically, postgraduate students are provided with both the theoretical and research oriented knowledge for effective functioning in relevant fields.

Postgraduate School also provides an in-depth knowledge for those who would like to take up career in research related fields, a base for independent intellectual work and problem solving approach.


The following constitute the minimum entry requirements into our postgraduate programmes:

Postgraduate Diploma Programmes

A graduate from a recognized University with Pass or Third Class at the first degree in relevant programme may be admitted, provided the Matriculation and Departmental requirements of Ekiti State University are satisfied. A holder of a minimum of Upper Credit in the HND from a recognized institution may also be admitted.

Masters Degree Programmes

A candidate with a first degree from a recognized University having a minimum of a Second Class Lower Division may be admitted, provided the University Matriculation and Departmental requirements of Ekiti State University are satisfied.

A candidate with a minimum of Credit or 60% overall average score in the Postgraduate Diploma from a recognized University may also be admitted provided that the University matriculation and Departmental requirements of Ekiti State University are satisfied.

M.Phil/Ph.d in Business Administration

Candidates must possess M.Sc in Business Administration with specialization in Management, Marketing, Organizational Behaviour or Operations Research with weighted average of 50 – 59%.

Doctor of Philosophy (Ph.D) Degree

A candidate with a good Masters degree with a weighted average of not below 60.0 or CGPA of 3.50 on a relative score of 5.00 (NOT Professional Masters) in the relevant or related discipline which includes course work and a defended research dissertation from a recognized University may be admitted, provided the Ekiti State University Matriculation and Departments requirements are satisfied.

A minimum Cumulative Grade Point Average (CGPA) of 3.50 or 60.0 weighted average is required for candidates converting from M.Phil to Ph.D.

In addition to these admission requirements, candidates may be required to present themselves for selection test and or interview at both Masters, M.Phil/Ph.D Programmes.

Photocopies of NYSC Discharge/Exemption Certificate, photocopies of all credentials, including ‘O’level or its equivalents must be attached to the completed application forms. Candidates must as well arrange for their transcripts to be sent directly to the Secretary, School of Postgraduate Studies. Non-Receipt of transcripts in time is at the detriment of the applicant.

List of Senior Staff
1. Prof. Ogunleye Dean Male
2. Mr. O. E. Akindele PAR/Secretary Male
3. Dr. T. Jegede Sub-Dean, Academic Male
4. Dr. S. O. Olatunji Sub-Dean, Professional Male
5. Mr. A. B. Adebayo Assistant Registrar Male
6. Mr. E. A. Falana Administrative Officer I Male
7. Mrs. O. Feyisara Administrative Officer II Female
8. Mrs.  E. M. Adeyemo Asst. Chief Personal Sec. Female
9. Ojo Israel Bankole Higher Executive Officer Male
10. Mr. S. O. Ariyo Senior Executive Officer Accounts/School Accountant Male
11. Mr. M. A. Omoosebi Accountant II Male
12. Mr. E. Akomolafe Executive  Officer Male
13. Mr. A. Adedayo Executive Officer Male
14. Mrs. T. M. Omoyeni Confidential Secretary II Female
15. Miss. T. E. Osasona Senior Typist I Female
16. Mr. F. A. Agbede Chief Clerical Officer Male